Welcome to our New Faculty & Staff 2022-2023 - Part I

Audrey Millois
Moyens French Teacher

What is your academic and professional background?

I studied English literature and civilization in Lille in the north of France before taking the exam for teachers in the suburb of Paris. I taught there 6 years before going to Louisiana as French immersion teacher in Pre-K4 and K for 5 years. Then I decided to go back to Europe, and I found a position in Spain in Bilbao where I have stayed for 8 more years. I had the opportunity to vary my teaching and to teach 1st, 2nd, 4th, and 5th grade. I really enjoyed these experiences, which were very important culturally speaking and varied as well.

What is your academic and professional background?

I grew up in a school as soon as I was 3 years old. My mum’s best friend was the curriculum director of a preschool, and she brought me there every day. I spent hours playing and looking at her during her work at school. I saw her dedication and I wanted to be like her. Since then, I have always loved the atmosphere of the school; it has always been a place where it feels good and, of course, associated with childhood in general: of the little ones we take care of and we help to grown, and of my own childhood in a personal way.

Audrey picture.jpg

What was your favorite subject when you were a student? Literature and history.

What describe you best? I think I love sharing with other people. I love getting to know people and I am very curious about others.

What are your favorite pastimes? I have many! I discovered acting a few years ago and it is really one of my things. These last years, I am also trying my best to learn how to play the harmonica. My students are my first audience! I love listening to music, and going to concerts. Everything related to arts and literature. While in Seattle, I would love to join a hockey team. When I was in Spain, I started surfing and I really loved it too. So, I also want to hit the pacific waves at some point. I am fond of sports in general, practicing and watching. I practiced running, tennis, and kickboxing for many years. And like many of us, I love to travel, be close to nature, and have good food and wine, of course!

What is your favorite color? I am a yellow person. I love how it shines.

Florian Le-Bris
2nd Grade French Teacher

What is your academic and professional background?

After earning my baccalaureate at the Jean Macé high school in Rennes, I obtained a degree in geography at the University of Rennes 2. Then I studied two more years to become a teacher. At the end of these two exciting years, I passed and obtained the certificate which allows us to teach in primary school. I taught in France for 8 years in the Rennes region. The discovery of another culture pushed me to come and teach here. I am happy and proud to join FISW, and I can't wait to get started.

Why did you choose the profession you have today?

I have always loved spending time with children. I have long been a counselor in summer camps or community centers. In addition, I have excellent memories of primary school so it was only natural that I chose this profession. And I have absolutely no regrets.

florian photo.jpg

What was your favorite subject when you were a student? I have always loved sports and literature.


Where did you grow up? I was born near Paris but I grew up in Brittany, in the West of France, in the city of Rennes. I have always lived in this region.

What describe you best? I think my greatest qualities are good humor and joie de vivre. I am always cheerful and optimistic.

What is your favorite pastime? I love sports very much. In France, I practiced soccer and tennis. I also like to travel and discover new places and new cultures.

.
What is your favorite meal/dessert/color/book? My favorite food is raclette; it's a French dish with potatoes, charcuterie and lots of cheese. I love any food that has cheese in it. If I had to choose a dessert (I love them all), I would choose ice cream. I really like green, it reminds me of nature (and soccer fields). I don't have a favorite book but I love crime novels.

What is your favorite place? Your favorite memory? I feel very good near the sea. I grew up in Brittany which is a region surrounded by the English Channel (sea) and the Atlantic Ocean. My favorite memory is my trip to Iceland, I was captivated by this incredible nature. It is a tiny island that has an exceptional diversity of landscapes.

What is your greatest wish? I would really like to start living again, to enjoy as before and have this difficult period behind us.

Sara Bovais
5th Grade French Teacher

What is your academic and professional background?

I went to the University in Montpellier, in the South of France. I earned a psychology degree in 2012 and a master’s degree in teaching in 2014 at the IUFM of Montpellier. After my studies, I taught in primary school in Béziers, still in the South of France. During my career, I taught in every grade except Pre-K, but I had the 4th and 5th grades in a double-level class for the 4 last years and I really loved it!

Why did you choose the profession you have today?

I wanted to be a teacher since 1st grade because I was fond of my teacher, and I will never forget her! She gave me this vocation. I love this profession because all days aren’t the same. I like spending time with children because they can teach you a lot: about many things and even about yourself. Furthermore, it seems to me that the education is very important for building tomorrow’s world and it’s a pleasure to contribute.

Sara photo.jpeg

What was your favorite subject when you were a student? I liked every subject, but I hated history and geography! Don’t ask me why because I don’t really know… Maybe I wasn't taught it the right way? And my favorite one when I was a child was literature. As an adult now, I still love reading.


Where did you grow up? I was born in Paris, grew up in the Parisian suburb until I was 10 and my father, my little sister and I moved to the South of France to a little village named Vias. It was more peaceful than the city we left. I quit Vias for my studies for 5 years to live in Montpellier and then, I came back but in my own apartment.

What describe you best? I guess that people who don’t know me already can say that I’m a smiling person. And they can always tell when they really know me of course! I can also describe myself as an understanding, patient and empathic person.

What is your favorite pastime? 

When I’m not at school, I spend time reading, doing sports, hiking and shopping. I like also dancing at parties with friends.

.
What is your favorite meal/dessert/color/book? 

Meal: Hâchis Parmentier

Dessert: Banoffee

Color: I love all colors. I am unable to choose only one!

Book: I am a Harry Potter fan but my favorite French book is “Le Petit Prince” d’Antoine de St Exupéry.

What is your favorite place? Your favorite memory? It’s a really difficult question for me because there are many places where I feel good… I would say that my favorite place is in front of the sea.

My favorite memory is my sister’s birth, I was so glad to become a big sister. I was 5 and I guess that I’ll remember this day all my life. Besides, I believe that it is her whom I will miss the most from France.

What is your greatest wish? I wish I could breathe underwater and swim like a mermaid!