New Staff 2020-2021 - Part III

Ann Hall
Professeur d'Anglais de CE1

What is your academic and professional background?

I gained my Bachelor of Arts in Elementary Education from the University of Jamestown and my master's in special education from the University of North Dakota.  After I graduated, I worked in the public school district of West Fargo, North Dakota before venturing overseas.  While living in Europe for the last 15 years, I worked at a variety of International Schools:  International School of Munich, International School of Amsterdam, International School of Paris and Marymount Paris.

Why did you choose the profession you have today? 

Throughout high school, I spent my summers coaching t-ball and softball and I enjoyed watching the sparkle in their eyes as they mastered a new skill for each sport.  Before I went off to University, I nannied for a family of five children in New Jersey and loved working with them on their school projects and volunteering in their classrooms.  This inspired me to travel down the education path, which has allowed me to gain such amazing experiences in a variety of schools.  

Where did you grown up? Where did you live?

I grew up on a 10-acre "farm" outside of Grand Forks, North Dakota.  I enjoyed spending my days and weekends running around outside, climbing trees, and building forts with my brothers and neighborhood kids.  

What are your favorite pastimes?

I love exploring new places and being outside with my family!

What is your favorite dessert?

Anything with chocolate.🙂.

What is your favorite place?

Growing up, we would spend our family time at a cabin in northern Minnesota.  I want to continue to take my own kids there to enjoy nature, time on the water and gaze at the stars in the sky. 

Marie-Cécile Joseph
Assistante Maternelle
Moyenne Section de Maternelle (Sam)

Quel est ton parcours personnel et professionel ?

What is your personal and professional background?

  • French school in different schools in France, scientific baccalaureate, double associates degrees (math and history-geography), followed by a certificate in hotel management. 

  • Career in the hotel industry in Egypt, Maritius, London, and Dubai.

  • Then a career in human resources (recruiting) for hospitality management in Dubai and Canada.

Why did you choose the profession you have today?

Recently I decided to start a new career in education to be more available for my children while continuing to have a professional life that I enjoy. I love to be around children and to watch them grow, learn, and progress. I love to share my love of francophonie.

What was your favorite subject when you were a student?

Math

Où as-tu grandi ? Where did you grow up?

In France until my 20s, then in London, Dubai and Canada. In the city and the countryside.

What is your favorite pasttime?

I really like to walk, hike, and cook.

What are your favorite colors?

Yellow and blue are my favorite colors.

Quel est ton livre préféré?

What is your favorite book?

I don't have a favorite book but I've read most recently My Name is Sarah and I really enjoyed it. I also found The 5 Love Languages very interesting and How to Talk so Kids will Listen...

What is your Favorite Place?

An outdoor evening spent in the mountains, at the sea, or in front of a lake.

What is your ultimate dream?

To travel for most of the year and manage a B&B with my husband for the rest of the year.